About Us


To increase community and business involvement in support of the Jefferson County Public Schools, Outdoor Education Laboratory Schools.


A non-profit foundation providing ongoing support to the Jefferson County Public Schools, Outdoor Education Laboratory Schools, and the commitment to experiential learning, stewardship, and historical preservation; for now and into the future.

What is Outdoor Lab?

Outdoor Lab has been enriching the lives of 6th grade and high school students in Jefferson County for more than 61 years. Located in the mountains of Colorado, Mount Evans and Windy Peak Schools give ALL students the opportunity to explore and experience subjects such as earth science, wildlife biology, astronomy, and forestry in a unique mountain setting. By engaging the students in problem solving, team building, decision-making and social interaction, the Outdoor Lab program helps to prepare Jeffco students for successful futures. Every student is given an opportunity to attend, regardless of physical or mental ability or ability to pay. High school students return as leaders to help teach the program and have their own unique experience.

What is the Outdoor Lab Foundation?

The Outdoor Lab Foundation was established as a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization in 2003 to ensure the preservation and contribution of the Outdoor Lab program. The Foundation forges relationships with businesses, community, and non-profit organizations to fund the Outdoor Lab Schools. It is through relationships with all interest groups that the Outdoor Lab Foundation plans to sustain this program that will continue to inspire future youth as they become our scientists, teachers, engineers, business leaders and thinkers of tomorrow.

Outdoor Lab Foundation Staff

Shannon Hancock
Executive Director
Leah Roche
Program and Finance Officer
Katie Evereth
Marketing & Development Manager
Paige Brophy
Marketing & Administrative Coordinator




Outdoor Lab Foundation Board of Directors

Josh Timon Channel Manager, West-RiskSense, Inc. Board Chair
Kathy Weiss Principal-retired, Jefferson County Schools Vice Chair
Alex Campbell Vice President of Land, Enduring Resources Vice Chair
Jürgen Schlieman Vice President, Firstbank Treasurer
Sue Shucard Teacher-retired, Jefferson County Schools Secretary
Sally Armitage Consultant, International Reservoir Technologies Member at Large
Jeff Brekke President, International After Market Sales, Gates Rubber-Retired Member at Large
Becky Bunn Adjunct Professor, DU and Project Specialist, International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer Member at Large
Jason Dewar Student Services Specialist, Jeffco Public Schools Member at Large
Mark Fitzgerald Director, Point B Inc. Member at Large
Blanche Kapushion, PHD Executive Director-retired, Jefferson County Schools Member at Large
Rod Wagner Partner, Acquisitions & Project Management, Larimer Associates Member at Large
Barry Wiebe Founder and President, Avout Member at Large
Michelle Winzent Co-Owner, Merkl’s Automotive Member at Large